Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

In Nursery and Reception at St Anne's the children follow the The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

The EYFS explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development:

 Children will mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

–Communication and language

–Physical development and

–Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning and underpin all planned activities in Nursery and Reception.

 As the children learn in Nursery and Reception, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are:



–Understanding the world

–Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan learning activities that are suited to your child’s unique needs both indoors and outdoors.

Autumn Curriculum Overview 2018-19

The following link takes you to a parents guide to the EYFS curriculum and can help you to support your childs learning at home:

Parents Guide to the EYFS

Translate »